Offseason Central

Welcome to the “Offseason Central” portal!  From here, you can keep up to date with all things offseason regarding the Verizon IndyCar Series.  Check out our up-to-date grid lineup as we try to forecast and inform you of the faces and places you will see drivers in 2018.  Additionally, we have a page that will include information on the Mazda Road to Indy!  Here you can check out full results from the annual Chris Griffis Memorial Test from IMS and the latest headlines on driver and team movement.

During the offseason Open-Wheels will additionally cover the Mazda Road to Indy Shootout, an event that pits 17 drivers against themselves in a race for the $200,000 USF2000 championship scholarship.  Our coverage will feature driver spotlight stories, the complete line-up of competitors and results from the event weekend.

As always, stay tuned to Open-Wheels as we create original pieces on driver movement, new relationships and team expectations was the 2018 season draws nearer and nearer.  When the Indianapolis 500 grid picture begins to clarify then this page will transform into a “Month of May” portal, complete with the up-to-date entry list, daily trackside reports and original content – all to be found in one place.

Thank you once again for vising, and we hope to see you again soon!

Familiar Faces, New Places

Carlin Racing drivers Charlie Kimball and Max ChiltonMax Chilton, #59
Charlie Kimball, #23
Carlin Racing

After a couple months of rumors and speculation, it was formally announced on December 12 that Indy Lights, Formula 2, Formula 3 and Formula 4 team Carlin Racing would join the Verizon IndyCar Series and compete full-time in 2018.  The outfit will hire drivers Max Chilton and Charlie Kimball to lead the two-car effort and Chevrolet will power the new team.  Read more…

Tony Kanaan
A.J. Foyt Racing, #14

IndyCar veteran of 21 years, Tony Kanaan, joined A.J. Foyt Racing with a formal announcement made on October 5, 2017.  TK gets the opportunity to drive for his hero in Foyt, and A.J. gets a driver with an Indianapolis 500 win under his belt – something that Big Tex would like to grab as a team owner in 2018.  Read more…

Matheus Leist
A.J. Foyt Racing, #4

The addition of three-time Indy Lights winner Matheus Leist makes A.J. Foyt Racing the “Team Brazil” of IndyCar.  The wire-to-wire victor of this past May’s Freedom 100, Leist’s Indianapolis success certainly played a role in A.J.’s selection of the 19-year-old.  Could he surprise as Rookie of the Year next May for the Indianapolis 500?  Read more…


Zach Veach
Andretti Autosport, #26

After appearances with Ed Carpenter Racing (Barber) and A.J. Foyt Racing (Indianapolis 500), Zach Veach returns to the team he spent multiple seasons with in the Mazda Road to Indy – Andretti Autosport.  Veach will compete in the Verizon IndyCar Series full-time in 2018, his official rookie season.  Read more…


Ed Jones
Chip Ganassi Racing, #10

The 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series rookie of the year winner shocked the open-wheel world when he abruptly jumped ship from Dale Coyne Racing to the vacant #10 car at Chip Ganassi Racing.  Previously earmarked for Brendon Hartley, it is Jones that will be Scott Dixon’s teammate for 2018 as CGR downsizes to two team cars.  Read more…


Takuma Sato
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

With RLL expanding to two teams full-time in 2018, it created an opportunity for the defending Indianapolis 500 champion to reunite with the team that he nearly won with in a one-off appearance at Indy in 2012.  Takuma Sato is fresh off a career-best season at Andretti Autosport, aiming to continue an upward trajectory in his ninth season of IndyCar competition.  Read more…


Robert Wickens
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, #7

After the departure of Mikhail Aleshin, Sam Schmidt has tabbed DTM stud Robert Wickens to join friend James Hinchcliffe at SPM.  “Team Canada” will be one of the more interesting two-car driver lineups, and Wickens should adapt well to IndyCar competition in 2018.  Read more…