Power Leads Team Penske Front Row Sweep at Iowa


Qualifying Results

After a disappointing result at Road America two weeks ago, Will Power rebounded in a big way on Saturday afternoon at Iowa Speedway. The Team Penske driver qualified his Dallara-Chevrolet on the pole for Sunday’s Iowa Corn 300 at the .875-mile track.

The 2018 Indianapolis 500 winner completed a two-lap average of 182.391 MPH, the only one of 22 cars to eclipse 182 MPH.

It marks his 52nd career pole, second of 2018 (Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course) and third pole at the. track (2010 and 2017). Power is now one pole away from tying A.J. Foyt for second on the all-time pole list (53).

2017 Verizon IndyCar Series Champion Josef Newgarden (181.160 MPH) joins his teammate on the front row. Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay (180.681) was the fastest of the Honda contingent in third, with Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud (180.313) in fourth.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports’ rookie Robert Wickens continued to lead the rookies. The Guelph, Ontario native qualified seventh (178.883 MPH). Championship leader Scott Dixon qualified sixth. The Chip Ganassi Racing driver set a two-lap average of 179.526 MPH.

The top four drivers were the only ones to average above 180 MPH. Seven cars were able to run two-lap times under the 36-second bracket.

After making contact with the backstretch wall in opening practice on Saturday morning, A.J. Foyt Racing’s Matheus Leist was the slowest among the 22-car field (168.724 MPH). Leist will make his first IndyCar start at the track after winning there in Indy Lights in 2017.

Next up at 6:45 Eastern time, the Verizon IndyCar Series will run a 60-minute final practice. The 300-lap race is scheduled for a 2:40 Eastern time green flag on Sunday afternoon.

Stay tuned to Open-wheels.com and our social media platforms for updates throughout the weekend.

Header image by Chris Jones/INDYCAR.

Spencer Neff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.