Inaugural 500 Mile Race to run today with worldwide broadcast

Inaugural 500 Mile Race to run today with worldwide broadcast

Open-Wheels Staff
November 17, 2019 | 8:00 AM

The eyes of the sim racing world will be pointed at Indianapolis today as the inaugural 500 Mile Race presented by Mitchell Transmissions goes green.

33 of iRacing’s best sim racers will take to the historic 2.5-mile oval at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, fighting to take home the first winner’s wreath and milk bottle as a winner of the 500 Mile Race.

A slew of storylines surround today’s race: Yang Ou returns from retirement solely for this race, and promptly won the Pit Lane Parley Pole Award last weekend with a four-lap average speed of 229.925 mph. Can Yang shock the world again and win today?

Sharing the front row with Ou is Wilson Neto (P2) and John Hajek-Doggett (P3). A diverse mix of veterans fill the field behind them, with seven former iRacing Indianapolis 500 winners in the starting lineup for today’s race.

That’s not to mention 30 drivers overall who have top split iRacing Indianapolis 500 starting experience, plus the exceptionally-talented rookie class for this year’s race: Zachary Campbell, Logan Simmons and Hugo Olsson.

Coverage of today’s race begins at 9:00 AM Eastern with a special two-hour pre-race edition of Today at the 500 presented by Thru Kaiser’s Visor. You can follow along with all of the time-honored traditions and pre-race festivities by tuning into Today at the 500 – please visit to do so.

While Today at the 500 presented by Thru Kaiser’s Visor will take you to 11:00 AM Eastern, the live, worldwide broadcast by RaceSpot TV will begin at approximately 11:15 AM Eastern. RaceSpot will have about 30 minutes of their own pre-race show before the race goes green at 11:45 AM ET.

You can catch today’s live broadcast of the race by visiting Additionally, live timing and scoring will be available by visiting

Thank you to all for your support of this year’s event, and we look forward to you tuning into the action today on Today at the 500 and RaceSpot TV!

Header image by Tanner Watkins/

Close Menu